Ocean City MD Traffic Defense Lawyer
Getting a traffic ticket in the Ocean City area and throughout the lower eastern shore of Maryland is a common occurrence. Ocean City police and the neighboring police agencies aggressively enforce both major and minor traffic laws. In Maryland, traffic offenses fall into 2 categories, “must appear” and “payable”.
The “payable” citations also benefit from the involvement of a strong attorney, as these citations can carry hefty fines and result in points on your driving record. If you receive points on your record, your insurance rates will rise and you may disqualify yourself from certain jobs that require a clean record. Attorney Clark can represent you in most payable traffic citations without you having to appear in court.
If you reside in another state and receive a traffic ticket in Maryland, the offense may be reported to your home state. Attorney Brian H. Clark will discuss your options with you.
Serious payable traffic offenses:
- Reckless Driving- $510 fine and 6 points
- Negligent Driving $140-$180 plus 1 to 3 points
- Aggressive Driving- $370 and 5 points
- Driver Consuming Alcohol in passenger area of motor vehicle- $530 plus 1 point.
Any traffic violation that contributes to an accident can involve increased fines and penalties, whether pre-paid or litigated in Court.
“Must Appear” Citation
The “must appear” traffic citations carry the possibility of jail. Having a strong lawyer is an important step toward protecting you from jail and the issuance of hefty fines and points on your driving record.
Common examples of must appear traffic citations include:
- Driving on a Suspended License
- Driving without a License
- Driving with a revoked license
- Fleeing and Eluding
- Hit and Run
- Possession of Fictitious License
- Altering Vehicle after Repair Order Issued
Driving While License is Suspended or Revoked
Driving without a required license is a common must appear offense that carries the potential for jail and points. A driver in Maryland cannot drive while their driver’s license or privilege to drive in Maryland is suspended, revoked, canceled or refused. A conviction for driving with a revoked license carries a maximum penalty of 1 year in jail and 12 points. Driving on a suspended license carries the potential of jail and up to 12 points. as well . However, a new change in the law as of 2017 provides that driving on a suspended license in certain circumstances is “must appear” but does not involve jail. Points are still assessed in most cases.
The State of Maryland makes speeding punishable by a fine of up to $500 dollars and the potential of 5 points on your record. Insurance rates could be raised or coverage canceled. Unlike the federal system or the laws in neighboring Virginia, there is no jail penalty for speeding in the state court system in Maryland.
A violation of one to nine miles over the speed limit results in 1 point if convicted. A speed of 10 to 29 mph over the limit is 2 points. If you exceed the posted maximum speed of 65 or 70 mph, by 20 to 29mph, then the points are 5. A speed of 30 mph and over is assessed 5 points. The fines on these citations vary .
Speeding on a work zone or school zone carries increased fines
Special Event Zone Violations in Ocean City
Recent legislation increased fines for speeding and other violations in Ocean City in designated special event zones which typically occur several time a year during car shows and other public events. New legislation is pending in 2019, so consult attorney Brian H. Clark for updates regarding any changes.
Currently, the fines for most speeding tickets issued in a special event zone are as follows:
Exceeding posted speed limit by:
- 1 to 9 mph- $530.00 fine and 1 point
- 10 to 19 mph $540.00 fine and 2 points
- 20 to 29 mph $610 fine and 2 points
- 30 to 39 mph $740 fine and 5 points
- 40 mph and over $980 fine and 5 points
Provisional Driver License Violations
Drivers with provisional driver’s licenses are subject to enhanced penalties for any ticket issued, whether they receive a PBJ or a conviction. The provisional period will be extended for a violation, which restarts the clock before a regular license can be issued.
Penalties also include driver improvement programs and lengthy suspensions depending on the number of offenses. It is crucial to consult Attorney Brian H. Clark if you or a family member receives any ticket during their provisional license period.
If you still have questions that have not be addressed here, feel free to read over our frequently asked questions.